Love Workshop

Over at Bostworld, Derrick Bostrom has been digging up a radio show from Phoenix’s past for which he has lots of love. Derrick Bostrom says…

“Love Workshop” was a fifteen-minute comedy program that ran on KDKB-FM radio in Phoenix, Arizona for most of 1976. The show was always somewhat of a mystery to me. During its brief life, “Love Workshop’s” hosts, Vern & Craig (Todd Carroll and “Wonderful” Russ Shaw) were my heroes, They just seemed to appear out of nowhere all of a sudden, offering the kind of savage humor I idolized in the “National Lampoon,” only they were right in my own backyard. And then it disappeared just as quickly. Though Verne went on to write for a national audience, and Craig continued to appear in Arizona’s short-lived humor magazine, the Razz Revue, they might as well have dropped off the face of the earth.

I used to have a pretty good collection of episodes, but I foolishly loaned out the tapes and never got them back. For the past thirty years, I’ve had to make due with three shows on one measly side of an aging cassette. Now, thanks to “Bostworld” readers, however, the search is over. If nothing else, it proves that I’m not crazy. I didn’t just imagine the whole thing. “Love Workshop” really did exist, and I’m not the only one who remembers it. For this alone, the contributors to this collection have my eternal gratitude and admiration. ‘

If you want to hear it for yourself, go to his site and download some shows.

clipped from derrickbostrom.com

blog it
Leave a comment

Filed under the sphere, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

