Wings of Thorn

clipped from gbvguide.blogspot.com

  blog it
Since I am in a music moment, let me point to my indie rock rosetta stone, Guided By Voices. Though things would get better produced and everything would lose its rough edges, I really dig those early GBV releases. I could write manifestos and retrospectives about the 90s rock phenom known as Lo-Fi. But the bottom line is embrace the flaws and hook directly into the rough drafted genius.
There will always be something in me that connects with that. When it became a set of rules rather than a circumstance, I lost the plot. Robert Pollard, the braintrust of GBV, has been walking the slender line between pro and amateur for twenty plus years. And he is great! So push off into this raw pop style and hear something that rushes towards visionary with the little concern for hermetic perfection. Your limitations are your loss.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

